The puzzle of a painting with no past

At least once a day I stumble across some item in my house of which I have no idea where it came. The thought of it barely crosses my mind for a second.

Give me a painting with no apparent origin however, and I’m stuck  to Google, like a (more pathetic) version of Jonathan Creek, hunting down its history.

The lastest mystery painting  is one which has been discovered in the NSW Art Gallery, Australia. http://www.smh.com.au/entertainment/art-and-design/all-show-no-tell-for-lindsays-lass-20110219-1b09d.html

It seems to have been on loan to the collection, from the NSW police in 1980 but despite a five month search for an owner, little more has come to light.

The fact that most provenance, or the history, of paintings are typically passed on via word of mouth, generation to generation,probably explains the existence of these ‘orphan’ paintings.

It doesn’t explain our fascination with them though.

Is it that our imaginations can get carried away as soon as the thought of an artist gets involved? Is it that we imagine owners of art to be that much more interesting than ourselves?

Is it that the idea can fuel the possibility of us finding a similar painting in our attic? Or is it just me?

 

 

 

About artsnitcher

Having worked at Scotland Yard's art squad for a couple of years, I am hooked on all things art-crime related. Fraud, money laundering and general issues around the protection of cultural property will all be discussed here, so feel free to get in touch with any news I've missed!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment